Sunday, August 3, 2014

Blog Tour: Review, Excerpt, and Giveaway of Between the Sheets by Molly O'Keefe

This tour is for the third book in Molly O'Keefe's Boys of Bishop series.  Each book has been amazing and Between the Sheets is no different.  Read on for an excerpt, my review, and the fabulous giveaway!

Perfect for readers of Susan Mallery and Rachel Gibson, Between the Sheets is Molly O’Keefe’s final book in the Boys of Bishop trilogy, featuring a sizzling romance between a sexy motorcycle bad boy and the girl next door who can’t resist him.

After years of running, Wyatt Svenson has now parked himself in Bishop, Arkansas, trying to do the right thing and parent a son he didn’t even know he had until recently. Over six feet tall and packed with muscles and power, Ty likes to get his hands dirty, fixing his motorcycle at night and keeping his mind away from the mistakes he’s made. Then his pretty neighbor shows up on his driveway, doesn’t bother to introduce herself, and complains about the noise. First impression? She should loosen up. Funny that she turns out to be his son’s elementary school art teacher—and the only one willing to help his troubled boy. Ty needs her. In more ways than one.

Though Shelby Monroe is safe in her structured life, she is drawn to Ty’s bad-boy edge and rugged sexuality. What if she just lets it all go: her worries about her mother, her fear of heartbreak, and her tight self control? What if she grabs Ty and takes a ride on the wild side? “What if” becomes reality—intense, exhilarating . . . and addictive. But Ty wants more than a secret affair. He wants it all with Shelby. But will she take a chance and open her heart? Ty is determined to convince Shelby to take the biggest risk of her life: on him.



January 8

Shelby Monroe was not having a very good morning.

Last night, her new neighbor—a motorcycle enthusiast apparently with insomnia and a hearing problem—didn’t stop revving his engine until nearly dawn. Then Mom put the coffeepot on the stove thinking it was the kettle and it shattered when it got too hot.

So here she was for her first day of classes after the Christmas break at Bishop Elementary, frazzled and without coffee.

Which was no way to deal with Colleen.

“Welcome back!” Colleen, the school secretary, stood up from behind her desk and for a moment seemed as if, in the three-week break, she’d forgotten that Shelby wasn’t a hugger.

Thank God it came back to her at the last moment and instead of throwing her arms around Shelby like they were old friends, she turned to the bottom drawer of her filing cabinet and yanked it open. Shelby dropped her phone and purse in it. There was no office for the part-time staff, so she made do with Colleen’s bottom drawer. She shrugged out of her winter jacket and hung it on the coat hook with her scarf, then tucked her gloves in her coat sleeves.

“How are you doing?” Colleen asked. “First day back. It’s always a good day.”

“You must be the only teacher in the world who thinks that.”

Shelby laughed. That was probably true. Her first days back in the school after winter break were her fa- vorite of the whole year. All the hard work of getting to know the kids, understanding them, and getting their attention and respect was done. And now they were re- charged. The next two months would undoubtedly be her most productive with the kids, before spring fever hit.
She just needed to shake off this bad morning she’d had.

“Coffee’s fresh.”

“You’re a saint.” She grabbed a mug from the cup- board above the coffee area and waited for the machine to belch and steam before she poured herself a cup. Col- to leen went nuts if you robbed the pot, and no one wanted get on Colleen’s bad side.

In her years as a part-time employee for the school district, Shelby had come to know one thing for certain: principals did not run schools; the secretaries did. And Colleen’s desk was like the bridge of a giant space- ship. A phone system with a gazillion lights and buttons. Color-coded Post-its. The sign-in book, which she guarded like the Holy Grail. The first-aid kit, the small fridge with ice packs. Printer, computer, jars with pens. One drawer had hard candy, the other a box of Triscuits. There was a heat lamp at her feet. A fan at her back. Two different sweaters over her chair and a small hot plate for her coffee cup.

Colleen could survive the zombie apocalypse at her desk.

Barnes & Noble:

★★★★★ stars

I'm still trying to collect my thoughts after reading this book.  I was very excited to see Shelby get her happily ever after.  Even seeing glimpses of her in two books did not prepare me enough for this one.  Shelby is awesome.  No wait, beyond awesome.  And so is Ty.  I wasn't expecting his awesomeness after the way he was with Shelby when they first met.  

It's hard to talk about Shelby without talking about Ty because their child hood experiences are somewhat similar and both have been changed by them.   They are also both currently dealing with other struggles as well, that are having huge impacts on their lives and relationships.  Kudos to Molly for portraying them realistically and even imparting knowledge about Alzheimer's.  My heart broke for Ty's struggles with Casey and for Casey as he tried to deal with everything.  I hate that he had to experience so much.  It kills me to read about fictional kids who've had lives like Casey's and that just makes knowing there are real children out there with similar or worse experiences out there so much harder to bear.

Between the Sheets is a great story.  I didn't laugh very much, but I did smile quite a bit.  Especially in the scenes featuring Brady, Ashley, Cora, Sean, Monica, Jackson, and Gwen.  It was great to see all of them again and I loved catching up with them.  There were some tears too, and some anger as well.  I really feel like I'm doing you a disservice by not mentioning more, but I'm afraid to ruin anything in the book for you.  This book really surprised me with the content.  I know not to expect the usual when it comes to Molly's books, but every time I read one, I continue to be amazed by how satisfying her books her.  They give me hope we can all find ways to deal with our demons and maybe find someone to love who will love us back.

* A copy was provided by the publisher in exchange for a honest review.  All opinions are my own and I was not compensated for them in any manner*

Purchase Links for previous books in the series:

Barnes & Noble: 


 Barnes & Noble:

About the Author:
Molly O'Keefe is the RITA Award winning author of over 25 books and novellas. She lives in Toronto, Canada with her husband, two kids and the largest heap of dirty laundry in North America.



a Rafflecopter giveaway



Blogger news