Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Blog Tour: Review and Giveaway of The Request Trilogy Box Set by Marquita Valentine

Thank you for joining me on The Request Trilogy Blog Tour! Visit the tour pageto follow all the stops along the way!

The Request Series, a sexy, thrilling romantic contemporary romance trilogy from NY Times Bestselling Author Marquita Valentine.

The Request, Book 1: Meet Roman Smith: Shopkeeper by Day. Assassin by Night. The undercover Russian contract killer has never turned down an assignment that rids the world of scum… until his latest job targets an innocent man. Refusing is not an option, because of Everly Andrews, the sexy southern belle who saved him from dying. She's completely unaware of his double life, but has been marked as next on the kill list should he fail. Only, what The Bratva doesn't know--there’s nothing Roman won’t do to keep Everly safe.

The Deception, Book 2: Drugged and deposited in a hotel in Prague, Roman must be on guard at all times in order to protect his lover, Everly Andrews, but the countdown has begun, and it won't stop until his next target, or Everly, is terminated.Can Roman protect Everly until he can eliminate the threat to her life?

The Confession, Book 3: Left for dead, Roman's cover has been blown. Worse, Everly is in Viktor's evil clutches, yet believes Roman to be the bad guy. Roman can't trust anyone, not even his cousin, Benjamin, who he must team up with to rescue Everly. Will Roman get there in time to save her, or will Everly be another casualty of a family grab for power in the Bratva?


★★★★★ stars

Individually each part of this box set is great and a four star read,  but read back to back, this box set is phenomenal and is a definite five star read for me.  I guess I'm just used to Marquita's sweeter novels, not that some of them didn't have serious issues in them.  I reviewed The Request when it first came out in June, so you can see my thoughts about it here.  I'll try not to spoil anything for anyone.

The Deception

This was a very good installment.  In it I worried, as did Roman/Nikolai, about what was awaiting them in Europe. Marquita did a great job at keeping me and the characters on their toes.  I was never fully aware of who was "good" or "bad" and definitely couldn't guess what was going to happen next.  I did enjoy seeing Everly and Roman coming together both romantically and physically.  Everly was certainly a surprise and in for one too. I read this withing an hour, it was so good.  It ended on a cliffhanger and I was grateful I had the next part on hand to read.

The Confession

The last installment was full of surprises.  The action was almost non stop from the time I started reading the first page.  I devoured this in no time.  I wasn't very surprised by what happened initially with Everly and Roman, but I was surprised at how quickly she forgave him.  I also liked the intrigue aspect.  I certainly did not see the culprit behind all the trauma Everly and Roman went through to be the person it was.  I was even more surprised by   I like how Marquita seamless integrated what was divulged and how the "problem" was taken care of.  I love how Marquita sort of slid the Holland Spring series in with a couple of references and honestly it made me want to read the series right away.  At the end, when I put the book down, I found I couldn't stop thinking about the book and what'd happened. 

Each installment was perfect, however I feel you get the best feel for the story if you read them back to back, so it's great they're all available in a box set. I'm thoroughly impressed with Marquita and can't wait to see what she writes next!

*A copy was provided in exchange for an honest review.  All opinions are my own and I was not compensated for them in any manner.*

Purchase The Request Trilogy Box Set


a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Marquita Valentine

New York Times Bestselling Author, Marquita Valentine, writes sexy heroes that make you swoon and sassy heroines that make you laugh. She’s the author of the bestselling contemporary romance series, Holland Springs, and the new adult romance series, Boys of the South.

Marquita met her husband aka Hot Builder at Sonic when they were in high school. She suggests this location to all of her single friends in search of a good man—and if that doesn't work, they can console themselves with cheesy tatertots. She lives in North Carolina in a very, very small town with Hot Builder and their two children.

No comments:

Post a Comment


Blogger news