Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Review of Sneak Peek and Full Book: What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Rating: ★★★★ 1/2 stars
Date published: April 15th, 2014
Synopsis: From the author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-me-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.

What I Thought:

I've heard that authors whose debut books are successful sometimes find it hard to write their second book.  Not so in Huntley Fitzpatrick's case.  She's written another book that manages to grab your attention and not let it go until the end.  I found myself thinking of this book weeks after I'd read it.  I wasn't ready to let Gwen, Cass, and the other characters go.

To tell the truth, the blurb only hints at the complexity of the book.  This book is about so much more than Gwen and Cass.  It's about Gwen's family and friends too.  Let's talk about the sneak peek first.  It was only the first three chapters and I was left wondering why the publisher Dial was being cruel to all the bloggers and readers who didn't get access to the whole book.  I mean it's a great introduction to Gwen's family but only hints at why Gwen wants to get off the island so badly and what Cass is to her.

So, I read the sneak peek and immediately went and bought the hardback.  I knew waiting was going to be tough, but I wanted to have the book to hold and I devoured the rest when it arrived.  The wait was well worth it.  I really liked Gwen.  She's a teenager whose in a situation not entirely of her making and seeing parts of it that are her fault hurt her.  She's been labeled something she's not and even though she knows it's not true, hearing the words again and again are still painful.  I wanted to both hug Gwen and shake her at the same time.  In the beginning I didn't understand what Cass had done to hurt Gwen but when I did, I was not happy.   Just to reassure you, I did end up liking Cass, it just took me a while to reconcile and process all the information I had. 

One of the most interesting and complex tracks in this story and a twist I didn't see coming and then did later on involved Gwen's cousin Nico.  I felt his pain like a blow to my chest.  Life can really feel unfair sometimes.  I feel so bad about this, but I've got to get it off my chest.  SPOILER ALERT!!! Please don't read on if you haven't read the book. If you've read the book, I'd love to hear your thoughts on this. Nico was accused of cheating towards the end of the book which is something Cass said justified some behaviors.  What I would like to know is, how did he cheat?  The accusations were never addressed, only made. End of spoiler. 

I read somewhere Huntley is writing a sequel/follow up book to her amazing debut book, My Life Next Door,  and I know I can't wait to read it, but I do hope Huntley will revisit the characters from this book as well.  I also know I'd read anything she wrote and know it would be a great quality read.

Purchase links:


About the Author: 

Huntley Fitzpatrick grew up dreamy and distracted in coastal Connecticut, attended Concord Academy and Yale. She flourished in a family of bookworms where everyone always had their nose in a book. She kept an exhaustively thorough journal which frightened her boyfriends but has proved very useful in her career as a writer. Her debut contemporary Romance, MY LIFE NEXT DOOR, was published in June of 2012 by Penguin-Dial for Young Readers. Now she laughs with and eavesdrops on her six children who provide her with perspective and material. She is represented by the amazing Christina Hogrebe of the Jane Rotrosen Agency.

You can connect with Huntley on Facebook or Twitter to find out what she's working on or to just chat.  Or you can check out her website:

*Sneak peek via the publisher on Net Galley, Hardcover bought on my own.*


  1. I skipped the spoiler since I haven't read this one yet. I am so very excited to read this one. I adored the authors last novel. So glad you really liked it!!! I can't wait!

    1. Thanks! I hope you like it as much as I did and thanks for skipping the spoiler, I'd hate to ruin anything in the book for you.

  2. This one is on my tbr and I'm definitely planning on readin it. I'm so glad that you liked it!

    Tressa @ Tressa's Wishful Endings

    1. Tressa I think you'll enjoy it. It's different from My Life Next Door but that same quality. I can't wait to hear what you thought about it. :)



Blogger news